Where In The World Have I Been?

image1

 

 

 

So I’m sure a lot of people may be wondering where in the world I’ve been the last month or so. After going from posting almost everyday to dropping off the radar, I’d say that’s a valid question.

Funny (but not so funny) enough, I’ve been sleeping. And not sleeping.

Let me explain:

My circadian rhythm has never actually been considered normal. Even when I was a teenager I’d have these moments of severe fatigue that would put me in bed for all of three hours, after which I would wake up for maybe 20 minutes, and then another wave of sleepiness would hit and I’d be forced back into bed, and so on. This cycle would continue 5 or 6 times in a day, multiple times a week. Sometimes it wouldn’t occur for months, and then suddenly years later another round comes on. I’ve never had it explained before.

The last couple of years I’ve found myself unable to sleep over 3 to 4 hour durations at a time, which makes falling and staying asleep a chore, as well as more bouts of feeling absolutely incapable of functioning during the day without having to lay down. And it’s gotten progressively worse the last couple of months.

I know some people would recommend taking a natural supplement such as melatonin or forcing your body to stay awake for an extended period of time up until exhaustion. Tried it. While it may help me initially fall asleep, I still without fail wake up 3 hours later. I’ve tried melatonin and tryptophan supplements, antihistamines, muscle relaxers, sleep deprivation, all of which leave me awake within 3 hours in a mental stupor that lasts for hours, sometimes still leaving me unable to fall back asleep even though I’m mentally exhausted and in a fog.

All of that to say, it makes keeping up with duties around the home and writing a blog extremely difficult when you’re constantly falling asleep or exhausted from being unable to fall asleep during acceptable hours. And when you can only sleep in 3 hour durations your sleep isn’t entirely restful, so it takes a lot of those cycles to truly feel rested, or at least I’m sure it would, I wouldn’t actually know.

So is it Insomnia? Narcolepsy? Neither?! I’m not sure. But I’m at the point where I really need to nail down the cause. So I’ll still try to post, but until I get this issue sorted out it may be a rather inconsistent schedule. Definitely keep me in prayer!

Eva
The Young [Sleepy] Helpmeet

Leave a Reply

