Overcoming a Lack of Motivation

oalom

 

She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness.

-Proverbs 31:27

This is even a convicting topic for me, because sometimes I take a look around the house at everything I want to get done and immediately become discouraged. Instead of seeing the work that needs to be done as work that Christ has called for me to do for Him and my household, I look at it like a mountain that I feel I can’t climb. I’d mull around the house doing little jobs here and there and then make my way to the couch tired and unmotivated to do much else. I had lost my entire purpose as to what a Christian homemakers’ motivations should be.

Your eyes should be focused on Christ, and then to the ways of your household.

It’s easy to become unmotivated doing the same mundane tasks week after week. Maybe you’ll be solid for a week or two, and then you become bored with having to repeat the same tasks again and again. If this sounds like you, what I always try to remember to do is to remind myself that before anything else, I’m doing this for Christ. Not because He cares if my toilet is sparkly clean or not, but because He has placed me in this position as a keeper at home and a helpmeet to my husband. I’m not in this season without purpose or reason, and neither are you.

Don’t bite off more than you can chew in a given day.

It can be difficult for us to keep up on everything we put on our To-Do List if we make it too excessive. You could have all the motivation and willpower in the world and still might not have time to wash, dry, and fold six loads of laundry, get the entire house wiped down, dusted, and vacuumed, dishes put away, multiple dinners made and prepped, etc. You get the idea. Be reasonable in the workload you give yourself. Do your maintenance chores first, whether that’s vacuuming, putting away dishes, or decluttering the house, and then work on your bigger jobs like scrubbing down the kitchen or mopping the floors. Otherwise it’s like trying to eat a week’s worth of food in one sitting. It’s just not a good idea.

Get out of your pajamas.

Believe me, I love some comfy pants and a fluffy T-Shirt, but it’s not conducive to getting up and moving if you really need a pick-me-up. When you’re in lounge clothes, you’re less likely to want to get out of bed and start on what needs to be done. Take that time each day to get dressed, brush your hair, brush your teeth, and if you want to put a little makeup on, go for it. Even if you have no intentions on leaving the house, it’s still helps boost your mood. It’s a lot easier to power through the day when you’re dressed for the day.

Start your mornings in the Word.

Give yourself that crisp foundation the minute you are about to start your day. Immersing yourself in Christ before even setting foot into the day can make a huge difference on your outlook on the day and its promises.  Remember that this is the day the Lord has made, so let us rejoice and be glad in it! (Psalm 118:24).


“And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.”

-Colossians 3:17


Leave a Reply

